WINGHAM BIA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday February 20.2020 @ 7pm at Knights of Columbus Lounge

- 1. **Call to Order**: 7:01 p.m.
- 2. **Welcome** Chair Doug Kuyvenhoven welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order.
- 3. **Previous AGM Minutes**: The Chair read the minutes of the 2019 AGM. Moved by Jason Schiestel to approve the minutes, seconded by Dave Tiffin, carried.
- 4. Review of 2019 Doug Kuyvenhoven reviewed the accomplishments for 2019 with a slide show. Some of the accomplishments were the painting and weed maintenance of the main street, flower baskets, Musical Muskrat Festival, Christmas Lights in Cruikshank Park, Farmers Market, In-it-to Win-It, The Wingham Town Hall Theatre renovations, and the BIA float in the Santa Claus parade. The BIA also gave financial support to cover insurance for the Firemen's July 1st Fireworks and the Santa Claus parade, and for the marching band in the Santa Claus parade.
- 5. **2019 Financial Statements** Treasurer, Jason Schiestel, reviewed the 2019 financial statements. There were a couple of questions relating to the financial statements. Motion by Christine McGrath to approve the 2019 financial statements, seconded by Jim Snyder, carried.
- 6. **BIA Vision** Two goals were listed:
 - a. To brand Wingham for Music
 - b. To become a leader in accessibility.
- 7. **2020 Budget** Treasurer, Jason Schiestel presented the proposed 2020 budget. There was some discussion on the LED sign project. Moved by Jim Snyder to approve the 2020 budget as presented, seconded by Mark Foxton. Carried with one opposing vote.
- 8. **North Huron Council Report** Trevor Siep gave an update. Council is currently working on the 2020 Budget. Council is discussing Hutton Heights and the Trailer Park for potential residential development.
- 9. **Digital Main Street** Dave Tiffin gave an update on the Digitial Main Street project. The \$2500 grant towards increasing online presence has ended but the training videos and information area is still available on their website and useful to anyone wanting training on improving their digital presence.
- 10. Election of Board Member The term of office for the BIA board members coincides with that of the township council. There was one vacancy on the board due to a resignation in 2019. Ryan Fergusson of Co-operators was nominated by Mark Foxton and seconded by Trevor Seip. There were no further nominations. Motion to close nominations by Jason Scheistel, seconded by Dave Tiffin, carried. Ballots were handed out, collected, and counted with the result of Ryan being elected to fill the vacant board position. Motion by Trevor Seip to destroy the ballots, seconded by Glen Manjin, carried.

- 12. **BIA Award Presentations**: Lisa Hearnden and Dave Tiffin presented the awards to several businesses and volunteers.
 - a. Volunteer of the Year Terry & Sandy Walker
 - b. Business of the Year Christine's Clothes Closet
 - c. New Businesses:
 - i. Lone Wolf Antiques
 - ii. Huron County Designs (winner of In It To Win)
 - iii. Thaiville Restaurant
 - iv. Reeny's Restaurant
- 13. Question & Answer Session:

Jason Schiestel
Trevor Seip
Jim Snyder
Dave Tiffin
Doug Trenter
Nicole Urguhart

- a. Nicole Urquhart from Huron County Designs asked about getting a sandwich board and her name in the BIA business directory.
- b. A suggestion was made to get the BIA Community Cash out earlier in 2020, maybe in October. The BIA Community Cash was sold out in 2019. The amount of BIA Community Cash has been increased for 2020 and a limit has been set for how much individuals and businesses can purchase.
- 14. **Meeting adjourned** Motion by Nicole Urquhart to adjourn the meeting, second by Mark Foxton, carried. The meeting was adjourned at 8.26pm and followed with social time, snacks and refreshments.

Date:	Chair:		_ Secretary:	
		Dave Tiffin	•	Annette Monsma
Attendees:				
Ryan Fergusson				
Mark Foxton				
Paul Gascho				
Dave Geisel				
Kim Geisel				
Lisa Hearnden				
Paul Heffer				
Steve Hill				
Brock Hodgins				
Jordan Hodgins				
Doug Kuyvenhoven				
Glen Manjin				
Christine McGrath				
Annette Monsma				
Kelly Mooney				
Ryan Moran				